Infinithéâtre organizes a Québec playwriting competition every year and the competition is onto its 10th edition! Infinithéâtre receives many innovative and exciting new plays from a lot of talented playwrights across Québec and a jury of professionals choose the winner of the Pam Dunn Prize ($3,000).


Photo credit Emily Di Michele Newson
Leopold St-Pierre accepts his $3000 Pam Dunn prize check for winning the 2015 Write-on-Q! from Chairman of the Board of Directors Gerry Lipnowski.
From left: Guy Sprung, Leopold St.Pierre, Noel Burton, Jennifer Morehouse, Joanna Noyes, and Gerry Lipnowski.

The winning script, as well as two or three additional plays, comprises the line-up of the annual reading series, The Pipeline, which is an animated weekend of free public play readings. After each Pipeline reading, Infinithéâtre takes its cue from the audience at talkbacks involving the audience, the actors and the playwright. These discussions provide valuable feedback for future programming and script rewrites.

So, read the guidelines and sharpen your skills for the next year's 11th edition of Write On-Q! 
Deadline: the first Tuesday after Labour Day.
We can’t wait to read your play! (PDF here)



Plays developed by Infinithéâtre have been performed in and around Montreal, Stratford (ON), New York, Tokyo, Cairo, Toronto and in Ottawa at the NAC!

Some past successes include:

Conversion by Alyson Grant, to premiere with Infinithéâtre this February!
Honesty Rents by the Hour by Michael Milech, Directed by Matt Jacobs premiered in 2016 in the Montréal Fringe Festival, won Best English Text and was remounted with Infinithéâtre in 2017.
Progress by Alyson Grant, premiered with Infinithéâtre October 2015.
Unseamly by Oren Safdie, premiered with Infinithéâtre February 2014.
Trench Patterns by Alyson Grant, premiered with Infinithéâtre 2012.
The Elephant Song by Nicholas Billon premiered at the Stratford Festival.
GAS by Jason Maghanoy premiered with Infinithéâtre in 2008, was remounted in Toronto (2009) and later translated for a 2010 Japanese production in Tokyo.
Blessed Are They by Bruce M. Smith premiered with Infinithéâtre and won two MECCAs (Montreal English Critics Circle Awards) in 2009 for Best Production and Best Actor.
Rabbit Rabbit by Amy Lee Lavoie tied for the 2010 MECCA - Best Text. Ms. Lavoie won the esteemed Revelation MECCA that year as well.
Father land by Arthur Holden, winner in 2008, premiered with Infinithéâtre in 2010.